‘nuits d’ivresse printaniere’

15 May 2009 at 7:30 am 2 comments

The cast (credit: Chinadaily.com)

The cast (credit: Chinadaily.com)

There they are! The cast of  “Chun feng chen zui de ye wan,” directed by Luo Ye (“Nuits d’ivresse printaniere” or “Spring Fever”), climbing the red carpet just moments after I DID!

Me, on the Red Carpet in Cannes!

Me, on the Red Carpet in Cannes!

There I am! It’s too bad my photograph didn’t come out a little sharper, but it’s the best that I had the chance to get with my tiny old camera (I wish I could have fit my good caemra in my purse!) before I was ushered up the stairs and into the Palais. Thanks Ryann, for letting me wear your beautiful dress!

We were so lucky last night. The College receieved 15 invitations to the screening at 5:30, and the screening was at 7:30! I was one of the lucky 15 who lined up to get them in time, and then got ready for this amazing event in less than a half an hour! I’d say I did a pretty good job looking “belle,” considering!

Climbing the red carpet was such a cool experience. I think it may have been the coolest I’ve ever felt. Photographers everywhere, snapping pictures, and to top it off, one of my favorite songs, “In the Waiting Line” by Zero 7 was playing as we walked. My friends Bre, Alli, Janet, and Mark were some of the lucky ones as well.

Inside the palais, I was lucky that no one noticed I still had my camera. I was able to get a few pictures (though blurry.) Here is how it looked and where we were sitting!

DSCN6963

I was sitting on the right, and the screen is to the right of the photo.

The film was, in one word, bizarre. But I don’t think one word will suffice. Intense? Emotional? Sexual? Beautiful? Explicit? Moving? I’m not sure which word is the right one to describe it. The film is actually banned, in China. It commenced with an explicit homosexual sex scene that put the “taboo” of  “Brokeback Mountain” to shame. In a review that I read today, the word “cru” (french for “raw”) rightfully described how I feel about that scene. But as the movie continued, we got to know other characters and relationships, homosexual and heterosexual, tragic and beautiful, and in most cases, surprising. The film was in its original version, in Chinese, subtitled in both French and English. I had fun switching between which subtitles to read, but I have to admit, the French subtitles were more well done (they included more detail, and well, French is just prettier to read.)

After the film, everyone stood and clapped, and turned towards the cast and crew who were there, in the center of the theater. They were so happy to be there – some of the actresses were crying… it was just such a moving experience to not only be able to see a premier like this, but watch it in the same room as the very actors I was seeing on screen.I have a blurry photo, but the gentleman hugging and the woman in the white dress were all a part of the film.

DSCN6966

After the film, I went out for a nice dinner to celebrate the exciting evening (and because we had to miss dinner at the college in the rush to get ready for the film), and walked home in my stiletto heels and floor length gown… what an experience. And today is only day three!

Tonight my friends and I are going to try to see the American film “Precious” starring Lenny Kravitz and Mariah Carey, which is premiering in the Salle Debussy at the Palais. It’s not an official “red carpet” premier, but should be exciting if we can get in nonetheless!

Stay tuned!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

le deuxieme jour du festival j’étais dans une pièce

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Victoria  |  15 May 2009 at 7:42 am

    Super exciting! If you get to see Precious, and if you happen to wander into Lenny Kravitz at some point and if you managed to kidnap him, hide him in your suitcase and bring him back to me, that would pretty much be the single greatest thing in the world. 🙂 *nudge nudge*

    Sounds like so much fun! Can’t wait to hear more. ❤

    Reply
  • 2. Adam  |  15 May 2009 at 8:05 am

    Do you get to see “Up”? I’m excited for “Up.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sarah in Cannes

Welcome to my blog! I am studying in Cannes, France for Spring of '09 and will be telling my stories here.

New pictures have been added! Check out my updated PHOTOS page.

Check out the links below to follow my friends around the world.

Recent Posts