le parfum, une anniversaire, une excursion à pied, et le carnaval

4 March 2009 at 9:22 am 3 comments

I haven’t written much this week for two reasons: our internet here at the college has become a bit flakey, and every time I commence an email, skype conversation, or say, blog post, it decides to cut out. So forgive me if I’ve been a bit out of touch lately. The second reason is, I’ve been busier! With what? Le parfum, une anniversaire, une excursion à pied, et le carnaval! That’s perfume, a birthday, a hike, and the carnival.

The perfume part, that’s old news – but worth mentioning. Last Tuesday we took a petit excursion to Grasse, the perfume capital of the world. We were treated to the opportunity to make our own perfume, except we had a recipe, so I don’t really want to call it my own. It took me back to the days of chemistry class, except luckily I wasn’t being graded, because if I was, I think I would have failed. Although the recipe was based off of the perfume that Marie Antoinette once wore, we all agreed that it smelled…gross. To give you an idea, my roommates wittily named theirs: Burberry Butthole and Clinique Crappy. Let’s just say I probably won’t be wearing mine.

The rest of the afternoon in Grasse was spent touring various perfume factories and learning all about how perfume is made. If you’re interested, feel free to ask, and I’ll try to remember…but I’m not sure that I can recall all of the steps at the moment.

The next big and exciting occurrence in my life (that’s a lie — I was pretty excited after purchasing roundtrip train tickets to Milan for only 30 euros…I’m going this weekend!) was probably last Friday, when my new friend Craig (who is actually accompanying me to Milan) turned 28! He’s an incredibly likable guy, as was proven by the 30-something people that showed up to his birthday dinner at an Italian restaurant on the seafront, “La Pizza.” I had some delicious food and then a fun night of festivities including moving our party to the beach for a bit (I love that we can do that here!) and ending up at our beloved Karaoke Bar, Station, where I sang “I Will Survive” with my new Australian friend, Bec, and “Summer Nights” with Craig. It was silly, to say the least. But much fun! And Craig seemed to have an awesome time.

dscn19061

Me and the Birthday Boy

Et puis, notre excursion à pied. Saturday, we took a train to a neighboring town, Theole Sur Mer, and we hiked up a mountain!! See those mountains in this picture?

dscn14541

We hiked to the top! Care to see the AMAZING view? Check out my video here! Since I’m not usually much of a hiker, I felt incredibly accomplished – especially since I was only a little bit sore afterwards. That’s not to say I wasn’t exhausssstteeeed. But I’m definitely going to do that again. Being up in the sky like that was completely surreal – it was so quiet (aside from the massive group of people we hiked with.) But it was so beautiful.

Sunday, AIFS took another excursion to Nice for the last day of the Carnaval. Although it was cloudy and a bit rainy, it was a hilarious time, as we saw the “big heads parade” during the afternoon. By the end of the day, we were all covered in silly string and confetti (if you have silly string, it means war), had danced IN the parade, and had had an amazing afternoon.

dscn1953

So much Silly String!

Since then, I’ve begun to get back into the swing of my academic life — my seminars begin this week. I had my first phonetics class yesterday, and boy is it strange to listen to your voice recorded on a tape. Especially in another language. Tomorrow, I start Histoire de l’art, and in the next few weeks, I’ll start my theatre class. I suppose I’ll be a bit more busy now, but I’m hoping that all of those hours in the classroom hearing and speaking french will just make my language skills develop that much faster.

That’s all for now! Time to do my homework!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

à la plage 24 heures à milan

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Victoria  |  4 March 2009 at 9:53 am

    DID YOU SEE BRICE!?!?!? Did you go surfing? Did you reference the BeeGees all the time!??! (These of course being the most necessary things to do in Nice.)

    Hiking is super great. I’m pretty psyched ‘cuz for spring break Grace and I are going to Sue’s place up at the Cape, and mom’s just recently informed me of how there are approximately 8 trillion places to hike.

    Beautiful view from the top, though!

    Can’t wait to hear about your classes! loves!

    Reply
  • 2. Mom  |  4 March 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Loved the video…..what a beautiful view & beautiful daughter….love you!

    Reply
  • 3. Baird  |  4 March 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Did the parade just invite everyone to come in and dance?! That’s so cool!

    I still haven’t gotten over how beautiful your beach is. The picture you posted looks like a postcard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sarah in Cannes

Welcome to my blog! I am studying in Cannes, France for Spring of '09 and will be telling my stories here.

New pictures have been added! Check out my updated PHOTOS page.

Check out the links below to follow my friends around the world.

Recent Posts