à la plage

26 February 2009 at 12:09 pm 2 comments

[The following is copied from my journal, written today at the beach]

Craig, Michael, Tahvia, Bre

Craig, Michael, Tahvia, Bre

Today might be my favorite day in Cannes so far. I’m on the beach, and it’s warm. I am leaning up against a wall separating the sidewalk from the sand, listening to the waves echoing off of it behind me. Now that the tide has finally gotten lower during the afternoon, the beach is more spacious. My friends and I are spread out and quietly enjoying the sun. Tahvia and Bre are lying on Tahvia’s black and white checkered blanket, listening to their Ipods. Michael is writing in his journal, probably doing character development for his next script, and Craig is resting against the wall next to me. I was reading for a bit: I just started a new book by Ann Patchett, The Magician’s Assistant, and I think I am going to like it. Before that, we were playing in the sand, digging holes to somewhere (not China… what country is across the globe from France?) and making sand castles. My castle was more like a big mound of sand, but it was fun to feel like a kid and play in the sand, even if it got under my fingernails. Craig ran up to play in the sea and he looked like a big little kid. I ran up and to get what I like to call sea kisses as the waves splashed up over my toes.

It’s partly cloudy today, but the clouds are whispy and look like watercolor brushstrokes across the sky. Yet again, the sea is sparkling like diamonds upon silk, and a sheer veil of mist falls in front of the mountains. Sailboats scatter the horizon. As I look out, I think, what’s out there? Miles, miles of water, and then Africa? It’s hard to believe considering it seems like the sky and the horizon are all just a backdrop to the world, like in the film The Truman Show.

Right now, I am doing something I’ve never fully realised I’ve always wanted to do. Sit tranquilly on a beautiful beach in the south of France with friends.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

mon première fois en italie! le parfum, une anniversaire, une excursion à pied, et le carnaval

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  26 February 2009 at 5:36 pm

    This post actually made me teary eyed, Sarah! With a nostalgia for that wonderful feeling of sitting on the beach in Cannes and mostly with happiness that you are having such a perfect day with your friends. 🙂 I love you!

    Reply
  • 2. Mom  |  27 February 2009 at 8:45 am

    Although I’ve never been to Cannes, I agree with Heather. Maybe some day – love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sarah in Cannes

Welcome to my blog! I am studying in Cannes, France for Spring of '09 and will be telling my stories here.

New pictures have been added! Check out my updated PHOTOS page.

Check out the links below to follow my friends around the world.

Recent Posts