ici à cannes

19 February 2009 at 3:11 pm 5 comments

This may be my new favorite place in the world

This may be my new favorite place in the world

It’s funny that I’ve been living in Cannes for almost three weeks now, but have yet to blog too much about what I’ve been up to. Since tomorrow morning I leave for Florence, and I’m sure I’ll have plenty to write about that when I return, I am taking this opportunity to report some of what’s been going on in my life here in Cannes.

My daily morning routine usually goes something like this: Tahvia’s alarm goes off at 7:30, and Bre, Tahvia and I roll over and moan about getting up. Tahvia is usually the first to arise, as she diligently showers in the morning, and then when my alarm goes off at 7:50, Bre and I roll over and moan about getting up. I eventually manage to drag myself out of bed shortly after 8, and usually Bre finally drags herself out of bed when Tahvia and I are heading out for breakfast. It’s a pretty good system, actually. I kind of enjoy living in a triple because it’s a bit easier to get up with so much happening in the room.

Breakfast is the same every day: cereal with whole milk, two pieces of bread with butter, and a small glass of juice. As I wrote about earlier, breakfast isn’t a very important meal in France, so they don’t offer too much. They do offer fruit, so I’ll occasionally add that to my meal. And then comes the French-learning-marathon: three hours of class!

Let me say, I’m not sure I’ve ever taken such a rigorous class in my life. The amount of information that we have covered in the last two weeks alone is probably equivalent to the amount of information I’ve previously covered in an entire semester. I guess that makes sense – we’ve already had 30 hours of class! I haven’t really noticed too much improvement in my speaking ability, but I definitely have learned a lot of vocabulary and grammar that I didn’t know before.

My professor, Annick, is quite a character as well. She has a very severe personality, yet she is constantly saying “C’est pas grave!” when we don’t know the answer. She is always wearing a shade of putrid green, wears what look like size 0 pants (and they’re still baggy!) and has the most bizarre haircut I’ve ever seen. I wish I had a picture. The best way to describe it is that it’s a two-faced haircut. From the right, she has a nice shoulder length bob, but when she turns around and you see her profile from the left, she has a short layered haircut. I’ve never seen anything like it. It’s kind of impressive though, because she actually manages to pull it off. I feel like if I got that haircut and came back to the states, people would ask me if my hair stylist was drunk.

What makes class easier to endure is the always anticipated “petit pause pour le café” (small coffee break). From 10:15-10:30, all of the students congregate in the courtyard and the foyer, downing espressos to help them endure another hour and a half of class. I’ve managed to avoid having any coffee, because I feel like it would quickly become a crutch for me if I started the habit.

dscn14672

After class and after lunch, I’ve had a great deal of free time. I’ve occupied my afternoons in many different ways. At the beginning of the semester, when it was rainy, I took a lot of naps. Luckily, that phase in my life has begun to pass (although I did take a two hour nap this afternoon). Sometimes I’ll walk downtown, often to the Rue Meynadier (cheap street… I got a scarf for 4 euros!) or along the beach. Some afternoons, I’ll sit and read on the beach. Bre and I have spent some time exploring, too — one afternoon we ended up climing this road to the top of a small mountain and came across a lovely park. It was a great view! One afternoon, AIFS has a wine tasting (I feel so cultured!), and another we went to the beautiful Mediatheque (the library.) I am excited to go back there and take out some French books, movies, and music! One of my goals is to complete a french book while I am here. It might be from the children’s section, though. 😉

I haven’t explored much of the nightlife in Cannes, yet, because most nights my roommates and friends and I have prefered to stay in and hang out to save some money (I already feel like I’m spending too much… between all of the traveling I’ve already done, the deposits I’ve had to make, and the unfortunate exchange rate.) We have checked out a few places though, including a very relaxed Irish Pub called The Quays along the “croisette” (the seaside) and a karaoke bar called The Station Tavern (it’s near the train station.) I am hoping that as I continue to settle in and as the weather gets better, I will be able to explore more and check out some of the many places that Heather has suggested for me! We are actually getting ready to head out to Station tonight.

And then… off to Florence!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

ma chambre mon première fois en italie!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Baird  |  19 February 2009 at 4:36 pm

    I bet a French children’s book would be amazing. I say go for it.

    And you neglected to mention the putrid green of your professor’s wardrobe when you first told me about her. That just adds a whole new dimension of crazy to the picture.

    Have fun in Florence!

    Reply
  • 2. G'ma  |  19 February 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Papa and I have so enjoyed reading your blog so far. It brings back so many wonderful memories of life in France. We also had a chance to see your photos when we were in CT. Love the scarf!!!

    Bon voyage a Florence! Be sure to check out ‘The David’!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Michel & Judith Chertier  |  21 February 2009 at 11:29 am

    We met you when you were much younger! We lived in Brittany and have had many happy times with your grandparents (whom we just saw in Myrtle Beach a couple of weeks ago). Ask your Uncle John about his trip to the Riviera with us! Just tell him “five bottles of wine!” and “topless beach in St. Tropez” and watch him blush. Your grandmother & I took a trip to Florence together in the 80’s and spent way too much money in gift shops. Truly an amazing city. The French Riviera is a special, special place in the world….enjoy every second. Fondly, Judith

    Reply
  • 4. Maggie  |  22 February 2009 at 1:10 pm

    so cool to read about your daily life!! your french intensive classes sound just like the programs i go to… but i haven’t had a teacher as fabulous as that!! i say go for an awesome french haircut… don’t let the americans bring you down!! also you are as skinny as those french girls so you can pull it off, i’m sure.
    also glad to hear you’re enjoying your triple… i’ll be living in one in a week as well, so good to know it’s bearable!
    keep updating keep updating

    Reply
  • 5. Uncle John  |  23 February 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Well Sarah, I am looking forward to “sharing” stories with you upon your return. Since Judith spilled the beans on a couple of them, we’ll have to cover them for sure… unfortunately I am too old to blush about them anymore, as 5 bottles of wine among 5 friends is relatively commonplace these days… and the topless beaches don’t have quite the lure they used to, you know, when I was 17.
    Anyway, glad to hear you’re having fun and am enjoying your blogs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sarah in Cannes

Welcome to my blog! I am studying in Cannes, France for Spring of '09 and will be telling my stories here.

New pictures have been added! Check out my updated PHOTOS page.

Check out the links below to follow my friends around the world.

Recent Posts