il pleut beaucoup

4 February 2009 at 12:11 pm 2 comments

I wish it would stop raining! Cannes is supposed to have 300 days of sunshine a year, yet we’ve only seen a small glimpse of sunshine since we’ve been here. It’s frustrating, because I want to go out and explore, but the weather hasn’t allowed it yet! We did go out one day, in the rain, but my feet got so soaked through that I ended up having to buy new boots suited for the rain on the Rue Meynadier (known as cheap street… only 14 euros for my new boots!) Anyway, the forcast looks as though the rain isn’t stopping any time soon. It even has made us postpone our group trip to Monaco until Sunday, except now it’s supposed to rain Sunday. Not sure what we’ll do now.

On a brighter note, my voice has returned, and I think I am on the way to getting better. I guess all of the resting I’ve done due to the weather has been good for something.

The other difficult part about this week is that many of the students have been homesick (not sure if that includes myself, but I have been feeling funky) so a lot of people have been taking long naps and trying to adjust.

Classes have begun and I have placed into level 211, which is just shy of upper intermediate. We have French class three hours every morning, which is a long stretch, but I’m sure it will begin to pay off quickly. I’ve definitely developed confidence in my speaking skills already… I just need to continue studying. My class is conducted completely in French, and while I am sure that my professor, Annick, slows things down a bit so that we can understand, it is really gratifying knowing that I don’t need English as a crutch.

Sorry for the brief post — I know a more descriptive one with photos is overdue! Once the weather passes and I can take some photos of the area, I’ll be quick to share them.

Entry filed under: Cannes.

bienvenue à Cannes! quelques observations

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alyssa  |  4 February 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Glad to hear your feeling better Sar no one wants to be sick abroad! And as for the rain hey it’s better than snow in my opinion and we have been getting a ton of that! Just think when your back here in th states you’ll miss all those rainy days in Canne with your boots bought on cheap street! haha Love ya and miss ya ciao ciao!

    Reply
  • 2. Victoria  |  4 February 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Hey kitten,
    When we got to Australia, they made a REALLY big deal about jetlag and the whole cycle of studying abroad. Jetlag isn’t just adjusting to a new time zone, it can also include sickness (when I went to NICA two years ago, I ended up vomiting for a day) and depression and stuff. It will go away though, just need to give it time. Admittedly, it’s undoubtably a billion times worse with the fact that you can’t go out and explore.

    From what I remember about the emotional cycle and phases of studying abroad, you have the honeymoon (where everything’s amazing and you wanna do everything, and this will probably manifest itself as soon as the sun comes back out), and then things kinda cool down and you’re happy but not like, ecstatic anymore, and then you start getting super homesick and everyhting is terrible and then things get better until you’re comfy again.

    Which is to say, the phases are:
    😀 🙂 :/ 😥 🙂
    Having plans to travel and have little vacations will help when you get into the sad stage, so you’ll be fine! Everything’ll be roses once the sun comes out. In the meantime, let your poet rule everything! You’re in Europe! France! The rain that falls on your face has new levels of sophistication! The greyness is suddenly classy and waltzes under streetlights late at night. 🙂

    I love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sarah in Cannes

Welcome to my blog! I am studying in Cannes, France for Spring of '09 and will be telling my stories here.

New pictures have been added! Check out my updated PHOTOS page.

Check out the links below to follow my friends around the world.

Recent Posts