au revoir, etats-unis!

28 January 2009 at 7:51 am 5 comments

Weather Forcast for January 28, 2009: Snow, sleet, and freezing rain! Great! Luckily, no flight delays yet, but getting to JFK is going to be interesting. Cross your fingers for us!

So, today’s the day. I can’t believe it finally came! As I write this, it is 7:18 am… even earlier than when my visa came!…and I’m actually happy to be awake. The things this trip has done to me already truly boggles me. But, I am proud to say that I successfully shifted my sleep schedule to more of a bed at 10:30, up at 6:30 schedule. I’m halfway there to dealing with the time change! And I am already drinking tea to hydrate (Victoria, aren’t you proud?).  I think I’ve done what little I can to assuage jetlag horrors.

The past week has been a frenzy, from finishing up my job at the vet (I successfully completed designing my first website, too, for Family Pet Hospital! What a relief…) to saying more goodbyes. Yesterday was a pleasant conclusion to my au revoirs, ending with a delicious lunch with Kai, during which I had an unbelieveable appetite (and since then, my appetite is gone…stupid nerves), and a fabulous massage from my friend Kristyn, the aspiring massage therapist. If I was tense yesterday… I’m not anymore.

I am proud to say that aside from finishing packing, changing my voicemail message to a not-in-the-country-until-May-so-contact-me-by-email message, and some essential pre-departure reading, I have successfully checked everything off of my laundry list of things to do. (By the way, I recently learned where that peculiar phrase originated. I guess as far back as the Civil War, soldiers would list their things to be laundered, and the phrase has over time adopted the connotation of a long to-do list. Interesting stuff.) So far, the packing has gone smoothly enough, and my suitcases have yet to exceed the weight limit. Sarah, a minimalist? Again, what is this world coming to! But really, I speak to soon… I still have some piles of stuff left to cram into my new blue christmas-present luggage. (Thanks Mom and Dad!)

In other news, I have, with perfect timing, developed a lovely cold this week. I’m pretty sure I caught it from my coworker because I didn’t disinfect the phone after she used it and before I did. You live, you learn, I guess. Despite the occasional hacking cough and froggy throat, it’s not too bad, though, and I’m sure it won’t make too much of a difference in London, because Heather warned me it’s likely to be a blur anyway.

Aside from the snow, the nerves, and the cold, I am excited to leave. As I wrote about in one of my essays applying to study abroad, I am excited that in a day, I will feel like I identify with a culture for the first time. I will be “an American.” I have always possessed a small jealousy and interest with others in the US who are cross-cultural. I love Indian-American literature and films, African-American history and culture, even Greek- and Italian-American familial traditions. Although I know I have my own culture, American culture, I think that once I leave, it will truly feel pronounced for the first time. Hopefully I won’t be seen as an obnoxious, materialistic, ignorant American, though. That is something I will try my best not to be.

So, here goes! My flight leaves at 7:01 pm from JFK to London, or so we hope. I’ll be spending two days in London, and then transfer to Nice and Cannes on Saturday! Wish me luck! Au revoir, Etats-Unis!

P.S. Some friends and family were wondering if they can comment on my posts. Well, you can! Click where it says “Add comment” (or # comment) below and write me! I’ll love to know I have some readers!

Entry filed under: Pre-departure.

dix jours bienvenue à London!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  28 January 2009 at 9:10 am

    Bon voyage, Sarah! Gros bisous!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Baird  |  28 January 2009 at 11:38 am

    Hurray for minimalist packing and cross-cultural frontiers!

    Safe travels!

    Reply
  • 3. Adrienne  |  29 January 2009 at 9:29 am

    How exciting! I hope your traveling goes well and you feel better soon.

    Reply
  • 4. Adam  |  29 January 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Bon voyage etc!

    Reply
  • 5. Uncle John  |  31 January 2009 at 9:34 am

    Sarah,
    As I think back to the time I spent in France, I know you’re going to have a great time. Looking forward to reading your blogs along the way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sarah in Cannes

Welcome to my blog! I am studying in Cannes, France for Spring of '09 and will be telling my stories here.

New pictures have been added! Check out my updated PHOTOS page.

Check out the links below to follow my friends around the world.

Recent Posts