dix jours

18 January 2009 at 8:58 pm 1 comment

With only a little over a week left until I depart for France, I figured it was about time to write a full blog-post filled with pre-departure thoughts, anticipations, and anxieties. Ever since I got my visa, I haven’t had many pressing things on my pre-study-abroad To-Do list, but with ten days remaining, the list is growing. This week’s agenda has been goodbyes, sending me through Massachusettes on a trip from West Boylston to Framingham and tomorrow to Boston to bid my loved ones au revoir, or rather, a tout a l’heuresee you later — to some. With Baird studying in Denmark, I’ll be seeing him over spring break, and my sister Heather and her boyfriend Bill will be visiting in late April.

After the visit to Emmanuel, I head home on Thursday and begin packing. In the meantime, I’ve been toying with some intangible preparations. Having never been further west than Florida or further east than Bermuda, a trans-atlantic trip will be quite new, and I’m not sure how my body will react to the time difference. As an obstinate supporter (I’m denying addiction) of my sacred eight hours of sleep (or nine, or ten, or…) I am almost tempted to begin depriving myself of sleep or heading to bed around 10pm and waking up at 6am to make the shift easier. Yes…almost.

One thing that I know I can’t really prepare for but am anxious (in both a good and a bad way) to experience is culture shock. I try not to worry about the language, having taken, what… six years of French by now?…yet I know that as soon as I get there and step into a café, eavesdropping will still be out of the question. My grandparents have warned me to remember the phrase “Lentement, s’il vous plait” (Slowly, please). In their four year stay in Brittany, they used it very often. The food, I am less nervous about. How can I go wrong with bread, cheese, and good wine?

I’ve been very lucky to have Heather to help me prepare (she currently sits beside my rehearsing the Pledge of Allegiance in sign language for Inauguration Day in her fourth grade Framingham class… side note: so excited to remain in the US for Obama’s Inauguration! And excited to go abroad with him as our president.) But, as I was saying, I am lucky to have Heather to give me advice and insights into life in Cannes. She took the same trip her Junior year spring semester of ’06. We’ve spent much of today looking through her scrapbook, her with nostalgia and me with anticipation!

Rather than bore my readers with an excess of pre-departure musings before I even leave, I am signing off now to enjoy one of my final nights visiting my sister.

Entry filed under: Pre-departure.

il était un bon matin au revoir, etats-unis!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Victoria  |  19 January 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Insofar a jet lag, a few SUPER helpful pointers:
    1) Water. Lots of it. I don’t know the science as to why it helps, but it does. Drink lots on the plane and lots when you get off.
    2) Figure out the time difference and as soon as you get on the plane, immediately think of only that time. So if you’re gonna get off the plane at noon or something, sleep before hand so you’re wide awake as soon as you get off the plane. Or chug coffee or whatever you need to do. If you can just force yourself into that time zone immediately on the first day, the next few days will be fine.
    3) You’re gonna learn SO FAST. Don’t fret.

    You’re gonna have so much fun, love!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sarah in Cannes

Welcome to my blog! I am studying in Cannes, France for Spring of '09 and will be telling my stories here.

New pictures have been added! Check out my updated PHOTOS page.

Check out the links below to follow my friends around the world.

Recent Posts